LA PLATA ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION, INC.

Broadband Committee Minutes of Meeting Tuesday, October 6, 2020 https://lpea.coop/board-directors-committees

CALL TO ORDER

The Broadband Committee Committee of the La Plata Electric Association Board of Directors was held Tuesday, October 6, 2020 via webinar. Committee Chair, Kirsten Skeehan called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. The following committee members were in attendance:

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Kirsten Skeehan, Committee Chair Tim Wheeler Holly Metzler Jessica Matlock, CEO Ryne Waggoner, Staff Engineer

SUPPORT STAFF

Dan Harms, VP of Grid Solutions

EXCUSED ABSENCE None

GUESTS: Kelly Hebbard, Natambu Obleton, Ted Compton, Deb Shishler, Guinn Unger, John Witchel, Meade Harbison, Roy Horvath, Cynthia Dow, Graham Smith, Miriam Gillow-Wiles

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Committee Chair Skeehan addressed the October 6, 2020 Broadband Committee meeting agenda.

Motion: Committee member Metzler moved to approve the October 6, 2020 Broadband

Committee meeting agenda as presented. Motion seconded and carried without

dissent.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Committee Chair Skeehan addressed the February 13, 2020 Broadband Committee meeting minutes. There was consensus among the committee to postpone approval of the February 13, 2020 meeting minutes to the next meeting in order to allow more time for review.

COMMITTEE DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

INTRODUCTION OF NEW BOARD MAKE-UP – Committee Chair Skeehan welcomed guests and introduced committee members Holly Metzler, Tim Wheeler, CEO Jessica Matlock,

and Staff Engineer Ryne Waggoner; and addressed the updated Broadband Committee Statement of Functions and committee charter that were approved at the September 16,2020 board meeting.

REVIEW OF PROPOSED STRATEGY FOR ACHIEVING A RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD IN APRIL 2021 – CEO Matlock discussed a proposal for a neutral and organized process for determining the best broadband options for LPEA, a plan for developing goals and parameters to educate the board, and creating an overall framework for achieving a broadband strategy to recommend to the board in April 2021.

A REVIEW OF BROADBAND – VP of Grid Solutions Dan Harms reviewed a presentation given by FastTrack to LPEA in December 2019 which addressed the Federal Communications Commission's definition of broadband, the state of broadband in Colorado, technologies and limitations, the status of broadband access across Colorado and the LPEA service territory, and the telecom landscape in general.

VP of Grid Solutions Dan Harms followed-up with a discussion on things to consider if/when fiber is potentially added to LPEA's system via operational network expansion, a telecom provider pole attachment, or a Fiber Optic Network Agreement (FONA); and the legal challenges and potential tenant considerations that come into play with Senate Bill 107 which allows the electric right of way to be used for communications; and took questions.

DEVELOP NEXT STEPS – Discussion ensued on three high level goals for the committee that were proposed by committee member Wheeler in January 2020 which include assisting the community, assisting LPEA operations, and assisting LPEA finances. Discussion ensued on whether the goals are in alignment with the overall strategic initiatives of LPEA, and if they serve as a frame of reference for establishing a starting point in the process for achieving a broadband strategy to recommend to the board.

CEO Matlock noted that LPEA is working with the Colorado Broadband Office on funding possibilities, and with key partners for sharing data. Additionally, a collaborative strategic white paper will be in development on an ongoing basis with committee member input.

Committee Chair Skeehan invited community input to the process and requested that staff create a means for receiving input and sharing it on the LPEA website, discussed format of future meetings, and will work with committee members to schedule the next meeting.

There being no further business, the Broadband Committee of the La Plata Electric Association, Board of Directors meeting adjourned at 11:03 a.m.

Recorded by C.E. Charistopoulos, and approved by:

Kirsten Skeehan, Committee Chair